Traits to Look For

If I were the one in charge of deciding who would make it to the offshore, I would look for a diversity of traits. I have thought a lot about qualities and skills that would benefit a society that was stranded on an island, or a dystopian world in which all technology was lost and a society had to start from scratch. I think about this in reference to the career I will choose and the interests I pursue. I think the necessary occupations in a new, small society would be doctors/medical field, lawmakers/communicators, and engineers. All these things are necessary to a society and would need to be part of the offshore. Qualities affiliated with these occupations include medical knowledge and ability to work under pressure, critical thinking skills, mediation skills, an ethical conscious, innovation, and mathematical skills. These skills help a community move forward in an intelligent and efficient way. You need people to take care of others physically and mentally, you need to make laws and have people to facilitate those laws, and you need to be able to build and create infrastructure and technology efficiently and safely.

Image result for empathy meme

A trait I would also look for is empathy. I think empathy is a key characteristic in building a peaceful society. If everyone in a community were able to engage in a deep form of empathy, it would be a much more emotionally connected and peaceful society. It would be difficult to create a course in which these things are tested. It would also be difficult to decide who would get to move on depending on if they show multiple useful traits or just one.

 

 

Leave a comment